I grow vegetables to feed us, make natural ingredient creams, lotion and shampoo, cook all meals from scratch and detest E numbers. I live in the beautiful South Island of New Zealand

Gardening is a hobby and a necessity for me. With vege prices getting so high, particularly in winter when we need veges more, it is imperative I grow vege all year around.

In Feb 2012, we moved from a small rural property to an inner city rental. Our landlord, who is just happy to have mature tenants, has said we can do what we like with the garden as long as we mow the lawns.

At our last home we had made wonderful raised vege beds that I could sit on the edge of to plant or weed. They were working wonderfully but were left behind in the shift.

This house has a designated vege garden area of about 5m x 4m. Alas it is full of the nasty trailing climbing weed called convolvulus. It is coming thru to our yard from the 3 surrounding properties and the vege garden is riddled with it. Dig it or pull it and the teeny tiniest we bit you leave in the soil, grows and laughs at you. Thinking I had done a wonderful job of removing every wee bit from the whole garden, I went ahead and planted seeds and plants. I grew my sweetcorn with my climbing beans to be self-supporting, but alas convolvulus has over taken the beans and every other plant in the garden too.

Existing vege garden, weeds and all

Existing vege garden, weeds and all

So – it’s now mid summer and I am frantically building vege boxes. The Male of the Species has designed and made up the frames for me, and we are filling them with purchased garden gro mix, bales of straw  lawn clippings, torn up cardboard, newspapers and compost and I am planting them up.

A brand new vege box, just planted out.

A brand new vege box, just planted out.

Once the vege garden is spent, the plan is to make vege boxes on the old garden and put layer of what we call weed mat (landscape fabric) inside each box to prevent the weed coming up thru it. Plus… to my great delight, we are going to build a glasshouse on there as well. My little plastic greenhouse didn’t cope with our gale force nor’west winds and unceremoniously blew out and dumped all my seedlings on the ground.

Comments on: "How my garden grows!" (2)

  1. It’s nearly impossible to find well-informed people on this subject, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  2. Thanks to you too. Yes I have a few decades of gardening behind me. BUT, I am still learning new things. 😉

Leave a Reply

