I grow vegetables to feed us, make natural ingredient creams, lotion and shampoo, cook all meals from scratch and detest E numbers. I live in the beautiful South Island of New Zealand

Who Am I?

Mari

I am Mari, living in urban Timaru, New Zealand. I was born mid last century and have lived around the South Canterbury region most of my life. I am new to the land of blogging so please bear with me as I learn as we go along.

I have a passion for my vegetable and medicinal herb gardens on in a very small backyard. I am changing from growing ‘in the soil full of weeds’ to raised vege boxes. Much easier on my back. My first two have been planted and more will be done this week. The greenhouse will be built over winter. I love growing seeds and always grow far to many so give them away or sell them. My goal is never have to buy another vegetable again.

Over the last few years I have been fiddling with natural ingredients and have now got some extremely good potentially marketable products. I have perfected a wonderful light moisturiser, healing aloe cream, stick deodorant, conditioning shampoo, liquid body wash and hand wash and have several others in the pipeline and being tested by friends. This range will be called Gentle by Nature. It is still work in progress.

I have recently started doing patchwork. So far I have just been fiddling with some  of the different patterns, but I have plans to make a queen sized quilt for my bed. It will be something for me to do over winter months.

I have Fibromyalgia which makes every day different from the other. I manage fairly well with the pain and go with the flow. I work hard on the good days and chill out on the bad days. Its summer at the moment and it is far kinder on my body than winter is.

My best friend is Male of the Species aka MoS who has been building my raised vege gardens for me. My best buddy and little shadow is Maddy my wee dog and Sir Basil Brat Cat reigns supreme over our lives. I also have 3 chooks (hens) who are my resident snail and weed disposal units and wonderful egg layers.

There will be more about us all as I go along.

Leave a Reply

