I grow vegetables to feed us, make natural ingredient creams, lotion and shampoo, cook all meals from scratch and detest E numbers. I live in the beautiful South Island of New Zealand

Its now 5 weeks since I first went to the Doctor complaining of dizziness and ‘black outs’ than nearly made me faint when I stood up.

Under medical instruction I have, over the 5 week period, been coming off my medications. I am off both my blood pressure pills, my anti-inflammatory diclofenac (aka diclax and voltaren). I  am now decreasing the amitriptyline dose and will be off it by next Wednesday. After that I wait a further 2 weeks until my system is clear of  residual medications, blood tests will be done hoping to get a truer indication of what is going on.

I am still unwell. My blood pressure while resting is well within the normal range. When I stand, I still get the postural hypotension as my BP drops, then after a few minutes standing or doing something, it rises and I get the shakes badly, worsening the longer I stand or do things. Need I add I am fed up??

I had no idea how much the anti-inflammatory was helping my Fibromyalgia. I have been off it for 10 days and my pain and stiffness is very severe. So many more muscles are having fibro effects than I realised – chest, ribs, abs and back are all tight, stiff and spasming. My knees, hips, wrists, elbows and shoulders are  so stiff and painful too.  I am still able to take painkillers though as they don’t stay in the body long.

I am coping ok, but fed up and frustrated at not being able to do things I normally do. Alas the house work fairy has left the vacinity so things are tending to build up. Never mind, I am sure it will all wait until I am ok again. I am getting on well with my crochet project so that is something.

It is autumn and the days have become shorter and cooler. We have had rain this last week and not seen much of the sun. We have not had any frosts yet thankfully and I am still harvesting beans, tomatoes and zucchini.

Oh and the best news is, I have lost 3.8kgs. Is a very good start considering how inactive I have been.

Leave a Reply

