I grow vegetables to feed us, make natural ingredient creams, lotion and shampoo, cook all meals from scratch and detest E numbers. I live in the beautiful South Island of New Zealand

I just had to share this. I made it last week and have no photos to share of this as yet.

I finally used the last of my toilet duck type gel toilet cleaner and had been thinking what I could use in its place. Having just trained the male of the species to actually use this product, I knew it had to be simple but effective and be in the original under the rim type squirt bottle. So, I cleaned out the container and rummaged for ingredients. I know people use vinegar and baking soda for cleaning (I do) but knew I could not get them to remain in a suspension as the baking soda would be hard to dissolve. So here is what I did.

Homemade Toilet cleaning gel.

You will need –

1 litre (quart) jug

Balloon whisk or stick mixer

teaspoon and tablespoon measure

small funnel

clean under the rim type goose neck squirt bottle

Ingredients

500 mls very hot tap water+|*

3 tbsp washing soda

3 tbsp borax

1 tsp xanthan , guar gum or agar gel powder

15 drops of antibacterial essential oil of your choice. I used lavender, partly due to its antibacterial properties and also the fact it was the same fragrance as the last of the purchased stuff. You could also use – tea tree oil, thyme, rosemary or any others with antibacterial properties.

*Do not use boiling water as it can be flung out of the jug while beating and burn you. Hot tap water does the trick and is safer.

Method

Put very hot water into the jug, add borax and stir rapidly until it is all dissolved. Do this quickly as it can set like stone if not completely agitated.

Once the borax is dissolved, add washing soda and stir in, followed by gum powder. Mix this thoroughly as any lumps will block the squirt nozzle.

Add in the essential oil and mix further, then add cold water to make up the volume of your recycled bottle. Mine was 650 mls. Mix again.

This did not appear very gel like at this stage but I poured it in the bottle and hoped, knowing xanthan thickens as it cools. It did gel more as it cooled and I just shake the bottle each time before using and so far, no one is the wiser.

I am very pleased with this and would not alter the recipe next time. The porcelain receptacle is brilliant white and shiny. The only thing I would do different is  make it in the kitchen and use my stick mixer next time as the balloon whisk made it harder to get the borax dissolved when I made it over the bathroom basin. It works just like the bought stuff but is a fraction of the cost. The washing soda and borax I always have on hand for making my laundry wash and I have xanthan gum for my cooking and some of my other potions, so this is a very easy and cheap mix to make up. My guess would be about 20 cents to make?  That is better than the $4 or more for the retail stuff and healthier and kinder on the environment. It took me about 5 minutes to make up. The hardest thing was figuring out how to fill the swan neck bottle.

Let me know what you think!!

Comments on: "Homemade Gel Toilet cleaner." (8)

  1. Rachel said:

    Do you think that this recipe could be made to be more gel/cling like to reuse the scrubbing bubbles gel dispensers?

    • Hi Rachael. I am not familiar with the gel dispenser you are talking about sorry. But adding a little more Xanthan gum may do the trick. I find the consistency to be very like the the ‘toilet duck’ squirt under the rim product we buy here in New Zealand and find it just slowly dribbles down the bowl over a few hours. Your dispenser may create bubbles in it… I honestly don’t know. Sorry I can’t help more but its been years since I brought any preparatory products…. I have made my own for years.

    • Did you even find a recipe that worked to make a gel/cling in the scrubbing bubbles dispensers, I would love to be able to reuse mine with a homemade cleaner… the internet for once is not helpful as of yet.

      • Hi Rae. As mentioned previously, I am not familiar with the ‘scrubbing bubbles dispenser’. As I have not brought cleansers from shops for about 14 yrs, it is probable I have missed something, or maybe its not available here in New Zealand. Sorry I can’t be of more help. As stated I use a ‘toilet duck’ type bottle that I have had for many years for this product. But if it is like a foaming hand cleaner pump ( friend gave me some used ones) I had to add extra soap/surfactants to get it to foam and reduced the water component. Maybe adding some concentrated dish detergent or liquid castille would work – adding too much liquid may disrupt the gel so I would avoid adding extra water. Hope this helps.

  2. Debra said:

    Thanks for the recipe! So how did you fill the bottle? Ive been trying to figure this out myself, but no luck so far.

    • I remove the tip thingee (technical term here) and set a small funnel into it. Then I tilt the bottle into a bowl and prop it so the top of the funnel is level using cloths. Using a jug I pour some in, then tilt the bottle until the funnel empties, then repeat. You do need to lift the funnel frequently to let the air pass, or put a short piece of straw in between the funnel and the side of the spout to act as a breather. I just jiggle the funnel. It takes time to fill the bottle and does entail a lot of wiggling, but it can be done and is easy once you get the gist of it.

  3. Debra said:

    Thanks! I never realized that the tip thingee (I’m also very technically minded 😄) came off completely. After reading your instructions, I twisted it until I got it off. Can’t wait to try your formula.

Leave a Reply

